[FO Friday] Lace Bookmark!

Hi all, after such a large blanket as a WIP this week, this week’s FO is a little one. I combined a technique that I haven’t done in quite a while (crochet thread), with a technique that I have never tried before (blocking!), and produced this lacy bookmark:

Lacy Bookmark
Lacy Bookmark

I used a pattern on Ravelry for a Rectangle Granny Bookmark which is a free PDF pattern. The pattern creates this effect by working on both sides of the starting chain to make an elongated granny square. I used a pale pink crochet thread and a 1.5mm crochet hook to make this bookmark.

It didn’t quite sit right and kept curling, so I decided to try blocking for the first time! I used a foam exercise cube to pin the bookmark to, and then sprayed it with water and left it overnight to dry out. I wish I had taken a ‘before’ picture to show just what a different blocking can make!

Blocking the Bookmark!
Blocking the Bookmark!

I’m so pleased with how this turned out that I may make some more when I have a spare moment to make as small gifts for family and friends. Or… I may revert back to using crochet thread to make doilies! The next step would be figuring out how to block those…!

Until next time~!

2 thoughts on “[FO Friday] Lace Bookmark!

    • I’ve never really needed blocking with the things I’ve made, but when it comes to lace/thread it’s quite important! I have a few doilies to block, I should post before and after pictures!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

